United Kingdom

United Kingdom

Patron of Art Edition 2009 Max von Oppenheim - United Kingdom

Anthony d`Offay

Anthony d’Offay Collection

Jury Members:
Sir Salman Rushdie
Hugh Grant

The Event:
The Eighteenth Montblanc de la Culture Arts Patronage Award 2009 was hosted at the Tate Modern on Thursday 16 April.

The award winner was London Gallerist, Anthony d’Offay. Anthony d’Offay’s London Galleries played a key role in the promotion and understanding of 20th Century Art in the UK over a period of more than 30 years. His recent donation of art is one of the largest and most imaginative ever to be given in Britain and this has created ARTIST ROOMS, a new collection of international contemporary art which includes over 725 works by many of the world’s leading artists which includes work by Diane Arbus, Joseph Beuys, Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons and Andy Warhol.

Upon arrival, guests had the opportunity to view the Artist Rooms before heading up to the top floor of the Tate for the official presentation of the awards.

Artist Rooms is jointly owned and managed for the nation by the National Galleries of Scotland and Tate. Artist Rooms will take the form of 50 rooms of contemporary art by 25 artists with the intention that they will be seen across the UK, not just in London and Edinburgh.

The presentation of the awards began with an introduction by Kevin Boltman, about the history of the Montblanc Arts Patronage Award. This was followed by a speech by the Chairman of the Foundation, Lang Lang and a tribute by close friend of Anthony d’Offay, Lord Myners.

Anthony d’Offay was thrilled to receive the award and limited Edition Patron of the Art pen and chose to give his prize money of €15,000 to the Tate. In addition to this generous sum, the Montblanc Cultural Foundation donated US $5,000 to the Tate. This was raised from the UK sales of Lang Lang’s Chopin CD, of which the Foundation contributed US $2 for each CD sold.

After the presentation, guests enjoyed an exclusive performance by Lang Lang who played two pieces by Chopin.

VIP guests of the evening included Lang Lang, Katherine Jenkins, Tim & Lady Helen Taylor, Maria Grachvogel, Nicky Haslam, Zandra Rhodes, Grayson Perry and Daisy De Villeneuve.